Housekeeping · No-Fuss Home Cooking

No-Fuss Home Cooking: Chinese Chicken

I don’t love to cook. Well. . . I don’t exactly hate it, but I don’t love it. I’d rather keep right on going with my cleaning projects or organizing projects than stop and make dinner. But, I do love good, home-cooked food.

My mother did love to cook, and she got me used to eating healthy, well-balanced meals made from simple, economical, yet nutritious and delicious ingredients. And she always cooked and baked from scratch. So I  can’t settle for anything less.

Since I don’t love to cook, but still want to set a healthy, well-balanced meal made from simple, economical, yet nutritious and delicious ingredients before my family every day, I try to find meals that are no-fuss. By that I mean meals that don’t take a lot of time to prepare, and that are made from common items you’d find in your pantry. I’m no gourmet cook.

So if you’d like to eat good, but don’t want a lot of fuss, here’s one that my Mom made and that I served to my family for dinner tonight.

Chinese Chicken

DSCN3979[1]

6 boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cooked and diced (or the equivalent, using other pieces)

1 large onion, thinly sliced

2 stalks of celery sliced diagonally, including leaves (most important part)

6 cups of chicken broth

1/2 tsp. celery salt

1/8 tsp. black pepper

2 chicken bullion cubes

Add onion, celery, boullion cubes, celery salt, and pepper to broth and simmer until vegetables are tender.

Mix 1/4 c. cornstarch with enough cold water to dissolve, then add to broth, stirring until thickened.

Add chopped chicken to thickened broth and heat through.

Serve over rice.

I like this one served with brown rice.  I don’t always remember to allow for an hour to cook it, but when I do, I much prefer the hearty flavor it adds to the chicken sauce.

This recipe serves our family of seven, and there’s usually more than enough for next-day-lunch leftovers.

There you have it:  a simple, yet satisfying dish.

6 thoughts on “No-Fuss Home Cooking: Chinese Chicken

  1. This is delicious! I’m glad to have the recipe now for this meal. You brought it to us one time and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

