Home

Spring’s Promise

008

“Dressing up for Easter Sunday is overrated,” I thought to myself as I sorted through my kids’ closets trying to make sure all their clothes were ready for church in the morning.  I was struggling in general with feeling the pressure and busyness of preparing for Easter celebrations.  How could something so spiritually significant as the celebration of Jesus’ resurrection turn into such a stressor to me?

It wasn’t until I was lying in bed after all the Easter celebrating was over, that I was struck with the idea that Easter is really about God’s power.  Only God’s power could have raised Jesus from the dead.  Only God’s power can bring life out of death.

And isn’t that why we celebrate Easter in the spring?  When the earth around us lies cold, drab, and “dead,” a gentle and quiet, yet powerful transformation gradually takes place.  Waxy green spears push through cold, hard dirt, lifting buds that will eventually erupt into a burst of brilliant yellow.  And we call it a Daffodil.

I’m thankful for the reminders of God’s power at work  in nature and in us who believe  as I watch flowers bloom and tree buds swell this spring.

010

“. . .the immeasurable greatness of his power toward us who believe, according to the working of his great might that he worked in Christ when he raised him from the dead. . .” – Eph. 1:19,20

2013-03-28 010

Now to him who is able to do far more abundantly than all that we ask or think, according to the power at work within us. . .” Eph. 3:20

Leave a Reply

