Homeschooling · Preschool

This Week in Preschool

    2013-04-25 040

Here’s what Carmen enjoyed doing in preschool this past week.  These were the activities that she chose from the ones I had planned and set out for her. (Click here to see how I plan my activities.)

This is a nature rainbow scavenger hunt that her big sister actually prepared and did with her, and Carmen absolutely LOVED it!  The paper is covered with sticky-side-out packaging tape.

2013-04-25 041

Stamping on Play-Doh.

2013-04-17 0072013-04-17 010

Playing with water.

2013-04-25 004

I filled these empty honey bears with water, added a bit of food coloring, and just let her play.  I set out a tray with a bunch of little compartments for her to fill (an ice cube tray would also work).  We talked about how they looked like little swimming pools, and so we got out the counting bears and let them “swim.”

2013-04-25 0072013-04-25 012

This week I pulled a couple of activities out of the closet that we haven’t used in a while.  These took no preparation and kept her attention quite well.

We revisited lacing cards.  She experienced quite a bit of frustration when she tried them a couple of months ago, but I decided to give it another try, helping her get the string through from time to time,  and she loved it.  It’s amazing what a couple of months can do at this age.  She was so proud of herself!

2013-04-25 038             2013-04-25 039

She also loved playing with these magnetic dress up dolls.  Its a wooden Melissa & Doug toy (I love Melissa & Doug toys, by the way!), and it comes with an array of clothing choices as well as hair bows.  Each doll is double-sided, which means there are four different dolls to dress. This is one Mommy enjoyed playing with too. 🙂

2013-04-25  Allison 029

She’s enjoying floor puzzles, especially this one with all kinds of pets.

2013-04-25 079

And then there are books.  Carmen loves books, and almost never declines an offer to be read to.  Right now she loves “Mr. Putter and Tabby” books by Cynthia Rylant.  These are great stories!  I love books that are delightful even for ‘grown-ups’ to read, and these are just that kind.

2013-04-25  Allison 030

During a recent visit to her great-grandmother, Carmen brought one of these along.  Great Grandma read it to her  and got a kick out of it, especially the part about Mr. Putter’s “cranky knees” that wouldn’t go up the ladder, and the part about Tabby being old, but “she still loved excitement.”  Great Grandma laughed when she read that and said, “Sounds like someone else I know, who’s sitting in this chair!”  I love it! 🙂

Check back next week for more ideas on keeping your preschooler busy.  In the mean time, here are my other preschool posts, in case you missed them.

One Little Three-Year-Old One Little Three Year Old

2013-03-12 050  Carmen’s Quiet Book

3-21-13 341  Preschool Update

15 thoughts on “This Week in Preschool

      1. He is really cute…I like owls…I think it comes from loving to read Winnie the Poo. 🙂

        Oh, I think there are two little owlets. I’ll try to get a photo of both. Wish I had a good zoom lens.

  1. Great rainbow ideas! Rainbows are going to be the theme for Clara’s birthday party next week, and you’ve given me a wonderful activity idea with the scavenger hunt. Thank you! I’m so glad Carmen enjoys Cynthia Rylant and shared with Great-Grandma! “Uncle Elephant” is another one, I think Lobel is the author.

    1. Have fun with the rainbow scavenger hunt. Wish we could be there to help celebrate! Give Clara a birthday hug from all of us. =) And I do remember “Uncle Elephant.” I’ll have to check it out the next time we go to the library.

  2. So colorful and fun! I used to get the American Girl magazine when I was little and (at least back then) they always had a paper doll at the back. It was so fun! I wonder if they still do that…

  3. Fun ideas…mine love filling one of their play pots with water. We put it on a cookie sheet and then they let their people and plastic horses and other animals swim.

Leave a Reply

