Housekeeping · No-Fuss Home Cooking

Our Three Favorite Bar-Cookie Recipes, Featuring……the Best Brownies Ever!

Seriously, until this recipe, I’d never found a made-from-scratch brownie that tasted as good as brownies from a mix. But these brownies are just what brownies should be — rich, chocolatey, and moist. We came across them sort of by accident. Megan wanted to make brownies, so she looked up a recipe, mixed them up, and then asked me how long to bake them for. When I looked at the cookbook, I saw that the recipe was in the microwave cooking section. Hmmmm. We decided to try baking them in the oven anyway, and they are just amazing.  They won first prize at the fair when she entered them two years ago.  So go ahead — try them!

Brownies  2013-05-31 065

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla

Beat together in small bowl for 1 minute at medium speed until light.

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder

Blend in on low-speed

  • 2/3 cup chopped nuts (opt.)

Stir in.  Spread batter evenly in 8-inch-square dish.  Bake at 350* for 25 min.

This next bar cookie is one I got from my sister. Anything made with peanut butter, oatmeal, and chocolate, has to be good, right?!

Peanut Butter Oat Bars2013-05-31 044

  • 2/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/4 tsp. vanilla
  • 4 cups quick oats

In a mixing bowl, combine first five ingredients.  Gradually add the oats.  Press into a greased 9×13 in. pan.  Bake at 400* for 12-14 minutes or until just the edges are golden brown.  Cool five minutes. 

Meanwhile, for the topping, melt together in microwave for 1-2 minutes —

  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter

Stir until blended and spread over warm bars.  Cool completely, then refrigerate for 2 -3 hours before cutting.

And this last one is a favorite from my growing up years. The name doesn’t exactly make you think, “Ummm, sounds delicious!”, but trust me, they are. They have a warm, buttery flavor that makes them so, so good.

Calcium Bars2013-05-28 051

  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 cups dry milk
  • 2 cups brown sugar

Mix dry ingredients, then add —

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup chopped nuts

Spread into greased 9×13 pan.  Bake at 350* for 30-35 minutes, or until golden brown.  Cut into squares and coat with powdered sugar.

Bar cookies are easy for kids to make. We love drop cookies, too, but when we don’t feel like taking the time to scoop out all those balls of dough, we mix up one of these favorites, spread them in a pan, and 30 minutes later they’re ready.

Hope you enjoy them as much as we do!

11 thoughts on “Our Three Favorite Bar-Cookie Recipes, Featuring……the Best Brownies Ever!

  1. I like the way you think, Rachel! As a fellow baker and chocolate lover, I am always on the quest for the best brownies. I can’t wait to try these!

    When I have some extra time, I look forward to exploring the rest of your blog. It seems to be right up my alley. But, alas, dinner won’t cook itself. Until next time…

      1. Hi Rachel…just like high school, I am so very proud of you, of the wise decisions you have made, and of the amazing woman of God that you are!!! I am so excited to find out you have your own blog and I am looking forward to seeing more of your recipes and family oriented ideas. On Oct. 7 of this year, I resigned from my job at Hawk Security (I would have been starting my 9th year there on Oct. 25). This has been quite an adjustment for me since I have always worked outside of the home. I do miss having regular communication with the customers from Hawk Security..they were not just customers, but were individuals whom I cared very deeply for. I am now home schooling Zachary (9 years old) and Kristin (5 years old)…wow, what an adventure this is!! I love teaching my 2 youngest children and being at home with my husband who is a brain cancer OVER COMER. I have very strong convictions that I am where I need to be for this season of our lives and I thank God for allowing me this honor of being at home with my family. Love ya Rachel and I pray for God’s continual blessings upon you and your family!! ~Jennifer (Leatherman) Blevins

      2. So good to hear from you, Jennifer! It sounds like you’ve been through some adjustments lately. Good for you for following God’s leading in being at home with your kids and husband. I’m sure your husband has an amazing story to tell about his recovery from brain cancer. Wow! God’s blessings on you and your family, too, Jennifer

  2. Rachel it’s been so fun to find your blog through Facebook. Can’t wait to read more…We are still homeschooling and also using Charlotte Mason ideas. Since the beginning, I have been inspired by her philosophy and intrigued by her methods. Looking forward to reading more about you are doing it.

    Megan is looking forward to making a felt book like the one your daughter made, and we will definitely give these bars a try too.

  3. The brownies look so yummy. I always like to sneak in a little chocolate chips in mine. 🙂

    We’ll have to try your recipe. One of my daughters spent years trying to come up with the best brownie recipe ever. I’ll send her a link to this post.

Leave a Reply

