Housekeeping · No-Fuss Home Cooking

Our Two Favorite Made-from-Scratch Pancake Recipes

I don’t know why, but we rarely make pancakes from a mix.  Maybe it’s because Anthony and I both grew up on made-from-scratch pancakes, so it’s what we’re used to.  Maybe it’s because I can’t justify spending the extra money to have the dry ingredients already mixed up for me.  Whatever the reason, we always turn to these two recipes when we’re hungry for pancakes. 

 

1.  I hand copied this first recipe and brought it with me when I left home and got married.  We haven’t been able to find a better recipe yet for wonderfully light and soft pancakes.  The name of the recipe actually is Delicious Pancakes.  Simple but true.

2013-06-13 023

Delicious Pancakes

  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup melted butter
  • 1 1/4 cups milk

Beat eggs slightly.  Add butter and milk to eggs.

  • 1 1/4 cups flour
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 T baking powder

Sift dry ingredients and add to egg mixture.  Beat only until all flour is mixed — do not over-mix.  Batter should be lumpy.  Bake on hot griddle.

 

2.  We’ve only recently discovered this second recipe.  I like to use whole wheat in my baking when I can, if it doesn’t compromise the softness and flavor too much.  These pancakes are made from 100% whole grain — whole wheat flour and oatmeal — and they are unbelievably soft!  I believe the secret is soaking the oatmeal in milk.

2013-06-13 010

Favorite Whole Wheat Pancakes

  • 3/4 cup quick oats
  • 1 1/2 cups milk

Soak oatmeal in milk for 5 minutes.

  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 cup oil

Stir together with oatmeal mixture, mixing well.

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt

Combine dry ingredients and add to oatmeal mixture.  Fry in skillet until golden brown.

(Recipe adapted and taken from Mennonite Recipes from the Shenandoah Valley.)

Maybe it’s the case at your house too, that Dad is the pancake maker.  But just maybe he’d like to be treated to a ready-made pancake breakfast this Father’s Day. 😉

20 thoughts on “Our Two Favorite Made-from-Scratch Pancake Recipes

  1. I came over after you recently followed my blog. I love new followers and I love it when strangers become internet friends. I have been looking for a good wholewheat pancake recipe for forever. can’t wait to try this one. I pinned in so I can find it when I need it. I’m adding you to my blog reader.

    1. Glad we met. I do enjoy meeting other bloggers with common interests, as well. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed with the whole wheat pancake recipe. When I first found it, I was amazed at how soft a whole grain recipe could be. Enjoy!

  2. Thanks so much for this! I’m a Canadian living in England and pancake mix is just not available here. The British notion of pancakes looks more like what we call crepes. So I’m so pleased to have found your recipe! Now where do I get me some syrup? lol!

    Ali

  3. Awww… love your story about copying the recipe and taking it with you when you left home. So sweet. I grew up on… Eggos in the toaster! Ha ha! These would be a real treat considering I’ve made my children only the mix purchased from the store! Glad Dad is a pancake maker! Fun! Sweet times! (This post didn’t show up in my reader! I’ll have to look into that! Don’t want to miss one!)

  4. I simply cannot eat a Bisquick pancake. Blech. My fave recipe is very similar to your whole wheat one. But, I will say that Aunt Jemima has a whole grain mix that is quite yummy. It’s a little pricey, esp since i can only find it at Red Front. BUT, my mom got us 2 boxes for Christmas along with a bottle of maple syrup—awesome gift!

  5. I grew up on made-from scratch food too! We actually liked our recipe so much that when we had to go gluten-free I adapted it. These look wonderful!

    I like the new photo layouts. =)

Leave a Reply

