Family & Fun · Trips and Vacations

Next Up – Summer Vacation!

It’s July, typically thought of as vacation month.  For this farm family that is exactly what it is.  The spring field work is (mostly) done.  The fields have been fertilized, the barley has been harvested, corn and soybeans have been planted, hay has been cut.  And we’ve taken the Durango out to the field with lunch for Daddy one last time this season.

Now…..we get to TRAVEL!  That’s right, come Friday, these homebodies are hittin’ the road for four weeks!   We’ll be leaving our beautiful farm in the beautiful Shenandoah Valley of Virginia to travel the country and beyond, going as far as Vanderhoof, British Columbia (Canada) where my sister and her family live.

2013-07-10 042

We’ll take a week’s tour of the states before we get to Canada.  Then we’ll spend a week in Canada, camping with my parents and sisters and their families at Banff and Jasper National Parks in Alberta before ending up at my sister’s house for a few days.  On the “way home” we’ll swing by the west coast, and travel down as far as the Grand Canyon before heading home, taking in several amazing sights along the way.

This 36′ Fleetwood Discovery diesel pusher will be our home for the next month.

2013-07-10 051

As you might imagine we are super excited!  I’ll be taking LOTS of pictures, and hope to update this blog as we travel.

Life with five kids in a motor home for 4 weeks and 10,000 miles has got to be fun, right?  I’m sure things will get a little crazy at times, but oh the places we’ll see and the great memories we’ll return home with!

28 thoughts on “Next Up – Summer Vacation!

  1. Wow! Looks like an amazing trip–and it looks like you will actually be passing through my own little town! (I couldn’t quite make out the names on the map–I’m on the Oregon coast) May your trip be incredibly blessed, and if you need anything when passing through, give a holler. (seriously!) 🙂

    1. Oooh! I want to do BOTH of those! I’d never heard of the sea lion caves, but we really will be going right there. And I did notice on the map that we were going to be driving close to the Great Sand Dunes in CO, but I didn’t check into it. Thanks for these links, Maretta.

  2. We did road trips with 8-10 in a motor home. It has it’s challenges, but they were some of my favorite childhood memories. 🙂 Have fun!

  3. Oh, I love a road trip! You month long adventure sounds so very exciting!! I look forward to seeing your updates. Have a safe and pleasant trip!!

  4. You will absolutely love it – discovering new territory together! Motor home looks fabulous, who got it to sparkle and shine so lovely? Guaranteed, there will be a few more bugs on the grill by the time we see you next Friday evening! Use every possible chance to get in a swim (pools, lakes), great exercise to combat long days of travel.

    1. Anthony and all the kids washed the motorhome one evening soon after we got it! It really did clean up pretty nice, didn’t it? I’m sure the kids will be eager to swim at any campground pool we come to!! See you in a week!!!!

    1. Thanks so much! My parents did this with my family when I was thirteen — going to see my Aunt who lives in BC. (Only we took a van and a tent! We did stay in motels along the way sometimes too.) So I know how amazing the sights are and what fun it’s going to be. 🙂

  5. I hope you have a wonderful and family-building trip! Now I’ve got to ask… Who in the world do you get to watch over your animals for a whole month?! 🙂

    1. Good question! Anthony’s cousin actually runs the dairy, so he’ll keep right on doing that! The chickens will be going out just 3 days after we leave in preparation for a new flock in August/September. So….we’re good to go! Woo hoo!!

      1. Oh, and Anthony’s parents will be here, tending our cat, fish, triplet calves and taking care of farm business, cleaning out the chicken houses, and doing some field work that still hasn’t been finished (Many thanks to them!). We’re a bit later with the crops this year because of a very wet summer. The rain has been wonderful!

  6. WOW~ I am excited for you and can’t wait to see pictures! Be careful … praying for safety, God’-sightings and a beautiful memory-making time with your family! Blessings!!!

  7. Wow! It does sound like fun… I think! 😉 I can’t wait to hear all about it! I bet you are the best, most prepared momma for a job (or fun!) this big! Soak up those moments and memories! Have a blast!

    1. Ha ha! I can “hear” the hesitancy in your voice, but thanks for your confidence in me anyway. 🙂 Seriously, sometimes I get a little nervous thinking about being gone that far from home for that long, but I know we’re in God’s hands, and I’m sure we’ll have great times. And we’re so excited to be able to visit our far away cousins finally! That hasn’t happened for 10 years!

      1. Not that we haven’t seen them in that long! They’ve come for visits, and my parents have flown/driven out to see them several times, but we haven’t been out to BC in that long — since I was pregnant with Megan (who’ll be ten next month 🙂 ).

  8. I am so excited for you! Our family just took a two week vacation doing similar things…what great memories we have to treasure now! I hope that your trip is amazing, interesting, and full of good adventures!

Leave a Reply

