Housekeeping · No-Fuss Home Cooking

Kids Love this Kind of Meatloaf!

 

meatloaf rings 2

Here’s a fun variation of the traditional meatloaf that kids love.

I remember this recipe from the kids cookbook we had when I was growing up.  I don’t have that particular recipe, but the idea is the same; it works with any meatloaf recipe.  Instead of forming it into a loaf, you just put several dollops of meatloaf on a baking sheet or 9×13 baking dish.  Then you make rings out of them — flattening the dollops slightly, smoothing the edges, and stretching the middles into holes.

The meatloaf recipe I use has a sauce to go on top, so I just drizzle that on the rings before I pop them in the oven.  They bake for 35-40 minutes at 350*.

thCA7HZSP0

While they are baking, I cook potatoes and mash them, adding salt and milk to make them smooth and creamy.  Then when the rings are done, I top them with mashed potatoes and shredded cheese, then stick them back in the oven just until the potatoes are good and hot, and the cheese is melted.

Here is a very basic meatloaf recipe.

  • 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups of bread crumbs
  • 1 1/2 cups of milk
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsp. salt
  • dash of pepper

Mix all ingredients together.

And here is the sauce to go on top.

  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 cup ketchup
  • 3/4 Tbsp. prepared mustard

Enjoy!

(Recipe adapted from Mennonite Recipes from the Shenandoah Valley.)

 

 

5 thoughts on “Kids Love this Kind of Meatloaf!

  1. I once saw a recipe where you place the meat in a muffin tin – it is supposed to bake faster and be easier to serve. I’ve never tried it, but I think I will try both that and your idea soon. =)

Leave a Reply

