Gardening · Gardening and Canning

Pallet Garden

Ok, folks.  Here I am after a long hiatus from blogging.  There’s no real reason for the hiatus, just got caught up in real world living, I guess.

I’ll start with one of the real world things I’ve been up to lately:  pallet gardening.

2015 Pallet Garden2

I really do enjoy gardening.  Much reward and satisfaction comes from watching things grow, knowing you had a hand in it.  I say a hand in it, because it’s so obvious to me that there’s a life principle, put there by the Creator himself, that I have nothing to do with.  If God didn’t do the growing, my hand wouldn’t do much.  Every time I drop a seed into bare earth and cover it up, I can’t help but feel a twinge of doubt that this hard, dry little something will produce a green living thing.  Incredible!  And when green shoots peek through, and in time bear fruit — there’s just a thrill to it.

Back to the pallet garden.  The basic idea is to lay a pallet on the ground and fill it with compost.  And there you have an instant raised bed, without the pains of building one.  The rows are neatly planned out for you.  And each board between the rows acts as a weed-block — yay!

I chose to use it for my spring and fall crops.  I got inspired with the idea last summer, when all the space in my main garden was spoken for already by a bunch of luscious summer vegetables.  I figured I could make a new plot to grow my fall crops pretty quickly this way.  And thanks to my wonderfully kind husband who laid down the pallets, brought in a couple loads of compost and helped me pack it in all those slots (a bit of a time-consuming task, I’ll admit), this inspiration of mine became a reality.

Allow me to show you around a bit.

We laid down 4 rows of 3 pallets,

2015 Pallet Garden

and planted lettuce, spinach, cabbage, cauliflower, and carrots.  (I think a pallet garden would also be  fabulous for an herb garden!)

2015 Pallet Garden6

2015 Pallet Garden3

2015 Pallet Garden5

The compost was rich enough soil that I decided I could crowd the plants pretty closely– maybe only 12 inches apart, sometimes closer.  Gladly, this didn’t seem to hinder production, and allowed me to pack a bunch of vegetables into this one little plot.

2015 Pallet Garden4      2015 Pallet Garden8 2015 Pallet Garden7

We enjoyed fresh salad vegetables all last fall and again this spring, and I even had enough extra broccoli, cauliflower, and spinach to freeze.

Now that the spring crops have ended, I’m ready to plant seeds for a fall crop (July planting of seeds, or August planting of greenhouse starts here in zone 6/7).

I have found that compost needs to be added between each planting.  And… that all gardens grow weeds as well as good things!  But the weeds are easier to manage with less space for them to grow, and they pull up with less effort in the loose compost.

So maybe I’ve sparked an interest, or desire, or maybe even motivation for you to try a pallet garden.  Go for it!

9 thoughts on “Pallet Garden

  1. So glad to run across your blog! I have been considering doing a pallet garden, wasn’t sure if it is as easy as it seems, but you give me hope. Also, I am just starting a blog and enjoyed yours very much.

  2. Rachel,
    I’m so glad to see a post. I’ve missed them! We are a homeschooling family in Texas, but I was raised on a farm in Aldie, VA, so when I found your blog a year or so ago, I thoroughly enjoyed it because it reminded me so much of “home.” Glad to see you’re back. How’s homeschooling? Would enjoy an update, if you have the time.
    Blessings,
    L

Leave a Reply

